Cooper County, MO.   An Economic Development Group Project
Homepage Communities in Cooper County History & Tourism County Government County Contacts Sponsors

Cooper County, Mo

The County was organized in 1818 and is named after Sarshall and Benjamin Cooper. Boonville is the County Seat and is the largest community in Cooper County. There are however many other communities in the county this includes Blackwater, Otterville, Pilot Grove, Prairie Home, Bunceton, Village of Windsor, Wooldridge, Clifton City, Speed, Pisgah, and Lamine. Since their beginnings many of the communities have had some tough times with the floods and the invention of more efficient trains that didn't need to stop as often. Today however much of Cooper County is prime agricultural land. It only takes a leisurely stroll on the Katy Trail to see the counties beauty. Cooper County is located centrally in Missouri and is bordered by Boone, Howard, Saline, Pettis, Morgan, and Moniteau counties. Cooper County is scattered with many small businesses from local bread bakers to barn quilt makers. The county is alive with history as it's the site of some early civil war battles along with the first official state fair location. It is also a spot on the Lewis and Clark trail and has prospered from being a county adjacent to the Missouri River. So next time your visiting or driving through please stop by and check out all that Cooper County has to offer.